Indoor Golf Startup Costs: Buildout, Equipment & Rent
Model indoor golf startup costs by space, bays, commercial equipment (with freight/shipping/install separate), buildout, base rent plus NNN per square foot per year, one-time fees, working capital and contingency. Adjustable low, base and high examples are labeled assumptions, not vendor quotes.
How the model works
- Occupancy is calculated as base rent plus NNN/CAM/operating expenses, each entered per square foot per year; annual occupancy is also shown as a monthly amount divided by 12.
- Capex separates construction/buildout from a full commercial simulator equipment package per bay. The package explicitly excludes the separate freight/shipping/install line; a launch-monitor unit-only price is not treated as a complete bay.
- One-time startup costs separately list franchise fee, professional fees, permits, opening marketing, shipping/install, lease deposits, a working-capital reserve and contingency. Contingency applies to direct startup costs only, avoiding double counts.
- Monthly operating assumptions separately list payroll, utilities, insurance, marketing, technology, other costs and (only when revenue is entered) recurring royalty.
- Published franchise investment disclosures are alternative comparators. Each is labeled by disclosure kind and source quality, and none is added to the independent modeled components.
Modeled scenarios
Low, base and high examples are illustrative assumptions, not market averages or vendor quotes. Change every input in the calculator before using the result in a business plan. Debt service and taxes are excluded.
Sources and scope
Published checks (not calculator defaults)
- TrackMan iO starting product price: 13,995 USD — Product reference only; not a complete commercial bay or calculator preset. (effective undated)
- TrackMan 4 starting product price: 25,995 USD — Product reference only; enclosure, AV, installation and commercial software are separate. (effective undated)
- TrackMan Tech Setup: 19,290 USD — Includes iO, PC, touchscreen and projector for an existing enclosure. (effective undated)
- TrackMan Tech Setup software: 700 USD/year — Home software price; do not substitute for the commercial license. (effective undated)
- TrackMan Home Complete software: 1,100 USD/year — Home Complete software comparison price; distinct from the $1,100 commercial license. (effective undated)
- TrackMan Home to Home Complete upgrade: 10,500 USD one-time — Home configuration upgrade reference; not a commercial-bay or venue-opening cost. (effective undated)
- TrackMan complete simulator package starting price: 29,715 USD — Complete home package starting point; commercial setup remains quote-only. (effective undated)
- TrackMan iO Commercial License: 1,100 USD/unit/year — For golf centers, clubs and entertainment venues; unit purchase is separate. (effective undated)
- TrackMan TMiO hardware subscription: 1,000 USD/unit/year — TMiO maintenance plan, not a purchase price or second simulator; displayed price excludes VAT. (effective 2026)
- TrackMan TM4 hardware subscription: 1,000 USD/unit/year — TM4 maintenance plan, not a purchase price or second simulator; displayed price excludes VAT. (effective 2026)
- National in-line retail fit-out benchmark: 157 USD/SF — Early retail proxy, not indoor-golf specialty, shell, ground-up or all-in venue construction. (effective 2026)
- National retail asking rent: 25.29 USD/SF/year — National asking-rent series; source does not identify it as NNN. (effective 2025)
- Houston average retail asking rent: 20.89 USD/SF/year — Base asking rent on an NNN lease; excludes the actual NNN pass-through expense amount. (effective 2025)
- Atlanta DeKalb average asking rent: 19.87 USD/SF/year — Submarket base asking rent on an NNN lease; not a national NNN expense average. (effective 2025)
- Atlanta Central Perimeter average asking rent: 28.35 USD/SF/year — Submarket base asking rent on an NNN lease; not a national NNN expense average. (effective 2025)
- Atlanta Central Atlanta average asking rent: 28.97 USD/SF/year — Submarket base asking rent on an NNN lease; not a national NNN expense average. (effective 2025)
- Atlanta Buckhead average asking rent: 46.11 USD/SF/year — Submarket base asking rent on an NNN lease; not a national NNN expense average. (effective 2025)
Current franchise disclosures
- The Back Nine Golf — $307,050–$688,500 FDD total investment; $50,000 fee; 8% of monthly Gross Revenues (disclosure fdd, source quality direct-registered-fdd, FDD year 2026, effective 2026; source)
- Five Iron Golf — $1,728,500–$4,380,000 published initial investment; $50,000 fee; 7% of monthly Gross Sales (disclosure secondary-fdd-summary, source quality secondary-fdd-summary, FDD year 2025, effective 2025; source)
- X-Golf (2025 FDD) — $1,132,630–$1,757,800 published initial investment; $40,000 fee; 7% of adjusted gross sales (disclosure secondary-fdd-summary, source quality secondary-fdd-summary, FDD year 2025, effective 2025; source)
- X-Golf (official marketing disclosure) — $993,000–$1,900,000+ published initial investment; fee not published; royalty not published (disclosure official-marketing, source quality official-franchisor-page, FDD year unknown, effective 2026; source)
- Dryvebox (mobile) — $142,000–$386,000 published initial investment; $34,000 fee; 6% of gross monthly sales (disclosure official-franchisor-page, source quality official-franchisor-page, FDD year unknown, effective not specified; source)
Source register
- The Most Accurate Golf Simulator for Home & Commercial Spaces — TrackMan says commercial cost depends on space, setup and software; a complete commercial bay remains a tailored quote. (quote-only; source date undated; effective year not specified; checked 2026-09-16)
- Start Your Indoor Golf Franchise Today — TrackMan describes turnkey equipment, training and support but publishes no complete commercial-bay price. (quote-only; source date undated; effective year not specified; checked 2026-09-16)
- TrackMan iO: Indoor Golf Launch Monitor & Simulator — iO starts at $13,995 for the launch-monitor product; this is not a complete commercial bay or an eligible commercial license. (published; source date undated; effective year not specified; checked 2026-09-16)
- The Tour-Proven Golf Launch Monitor — TrackMan 4 starts at $25,995 for the monitor/product; enclosure, AV, installation and commercial software are separate. (published; source date undated; effective year not specified; checked 2026-09-16)
- Golf Simulator Tech Package — $19,290 Tech Setup includes iO, PC, touchscreen and projector for an existing enclosure; home-oriented, not a commercial-bay quote. (published; source date undated; effective year not specified; checked 2026-09-16)
- The Most Accurate Golf Simulator for Home & Commercial Spaces — Complete simulator packages start at $29,715 for a home package; commercial setups require a tailored quote. (published; source date undated; effective year not specified; checked 2026-09-16)
- TMiO Software Subscription Options — TrackMan lists a $1,100/year Commercial License for golf centers, clubs and entertainment venues; the unit is purchased separately. (published; source date undated; effective year not specified; checked 2026-09-16)
- TrackMan Webshop — Webshop lists $1,000/year TMiO and TM4 hardware-maintenance subscriptions; displayed prices exclude VAT and are not purchase prices. (published; source date 2026; effective year 2026; checked 2026-09-16)
- TrackMan Software Terms — Home-only hardware, including TrackMan iO Home, cannot be used in commercial settings; a home product price is not a commercial eligibility claim. (no-price; source date undated; effective year not specified; checked 2026-09-16)
- Commercial Golf Simulators — Foresight directs commercial prospects to request information; consumer prices are not commercial-bay totals. (quote-only; source date undated; effective year not specified; checked 2026-09-16)
- Commercial Golf Simulators for Facilities — Uneekor directs commercial buyers to sales for recommendations, shipping and pricing. (quote-only; source date undated; effective year not specified; checked 2026-09-16)
- Commercial Golf Simulator Solutions — TruGolf says commercial pricing varies by bay count, enclosure, AV and facility-design scope and is custom-quoted. (quote-only; source date 2026-08-27; effective year 2026; checked 2026-09-16)
- U.S. Small Business Administration — Calculate Your Startup Costs — Methodology source for separating one-time startup costs from recurring monthly expenses. (no-price; source date undated; effective year not specified; checked 2026-09-16)
- Commercial Real Estate Terms and Definitions — NAIOP defines NNN as tenant-paid taxes, maintenance and property insurance plus operating costs; lease terms control. (no-price; source date 2024; effective year 2024; checked 2026-09-16)
- United States Retail Q4 2025 MarketBeat — National retail asking rent is $25.29/SF/year; the report does not label it an NNN rate. (published; source date Q4 2025 (PDF © 2026); effective year 2025; checked 2026-09-16)
- Houston Retail Q4 2025 Quarterly Report — Houston average asking rent is $20.89/SF/year NNN; submarkets range from $17.51 to $30.44. (published; source date Q4 2025 (posted February 2026); effective year 2025; checked 2026-09-16)
- Atlanta Retail Q4 2025 MarketBeat — Overall average asking rent (NNN) examples: $19.87 DeKalb, $28.35 Central Perimeter, $28.97 Central Atlanta and $46.11 Buckhead per SF/year. (published; source date Q4 2025 (PDF © 2026); effective year 2025; checked 2026-09-16)
- 2026 U.S. Retail Fit Out Cost Guide — In-line retail fit-out benchmark is $157/SF national average; this is not indoor-golf specialty or ground-up construction. (published; source date 2026-08-10; effective year 2026; checked 2026-09-16)
- Everything You Need to Know About Tenant Improvement Allowance — A tenant-improvement allowance is a negotiated landlord offset, not free build-out; FF&E and operating expenses are generally separate. (no-price; source date undated; effective year not specified; checked 2026-09-16)
- Franchise Disclosure Document, Back Nine Golf Group, LLC — Registered 2026 FDD: $50,000 fee and $307,050–$688,500 total investment; alternative comparator, never additive. (published; source date 2026-03-06; effective year 2026; checked 2026-09-16)
- X-Golf 2025 FDD — 2025 FDD summary: $40,000 fee and $1,132,630–$1,757,800 total investment; official marketing range is separate. (published; source date 2025-04-21; effective year 2025; checked 2026-09-16)
- Five Iron Golf Franchise FDD (2025) — 2025 FDD summary: $50,000 fee and $1,728,500–$4,380,000 total investment; restaurant/bar-oriented multi-bay concept. (published; source date 2025; effective year 2025; checked 2026-09-16)
- Indoor Golf Franchise Opportunities — Official marketing page separately advertises $993,000–$1.9m+; do not merge with the 2025 FDD range. (published; source date 2026-07-27; effective year 2026; checked 2026-09-16)
- Golf Simulator Franchise from $34K | 3 Revenue Streams — Current franchisor page: $34,000 fee, $142,000–$386,000 mobile initial investment, 6% royalty and 2% Brand Fund; not a fixed indoor bay. (published; source date undated; effective year not specified; checked 2026-09-16)
Cite this study
Golf Sim Finder. "Indoor Golf Startup Costs: Buildout, Equipment & Rent." https://golfsim.co/research/indoor-golf-startup-costs/.